KSCA elections: Wadiyar is president; Birjesh Patel back as secretary | Khelnama

KSCA elections: Wadiyar is president; Birjesh Patel back as secretary

KSCA elections: Wadiyar is president; Birjesh Patel back as secretary

by Khelnama News Desk | Cricket | 02nd Dec 2013

Bangalore, Dec. 2: Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar and Brijesh Patel returned back to power at the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) as president and secretary after their faction bagged all 23 posts on Sunday.

Wadiyar (923 votes), who will returns to the helm a second term after having served from 2007 to 2010, defeated his rival - the Anil Kumble-backed Sadananda Maiya.

Patel (977), who served as secretary from 1998 to 2010 before former India speedster Javagal Srinath took over the reins, ousted AV Jayaprakash. Educationist and businessman Dayananda Pai defeated incumbent treasurer Tallam Venkatesh by securing 932 votes. The three vice-presidents to be elected from the Wadiyar faction were Sudhakar Rao (915), Ashok Anand (861), Sanjay Desai (790).

The managing committee members are A Raghuram Bhat (923), Srinivas Murthy (881), Dodda Ganesh (899), Mallikarjuna Swamy (816), VM Manjunath (809) and Lachman K Mahtani (791).

The Wadiyar-backed clubs from Bangalore and mofussil areas clinched all 12 posts for institutional members.

"I would like to thank all the members of the KSCA for having supported the Wadiyar and Brjiesh group. It is overwhelming that the entire group of 24 candidates has won this election by convincing margins," said an elated Wadiyar, flanked by his jubilant team.

"Brijesh and I have worked on this arrangement for the last three years. All the nitty-gritty of ironing out whatever differences that may have existed has been on for the last three years.

Thanks to this, we arrived at a strong combination. In fact, towards the end of 2008, Brijesh made a proposal that both of us should join hands. But due to various reasons it was not possible. But after the last election, both of us decided that it was time that in the interest of the members of KSCA, we should come together," he said.

As part of their agenda for the next three years, Wadiyar said: "We shall definitely try to reduce the financial burden of clubs and try to support club cricket. We would also like to revive cricket tournaments.

We shall upgrade the stadium to a world-class facility with modern lighting, drainage system and rainwater harvesting. It is most important to have permanent seats for all galleries and members' stand," he said.

"We can't expect a better mandate than this, 24 out of 24 is great," said Patel. "Now we need to deliver in the next three years. Our first target is to see that our Ranji Trophy team does well and that junior cricket is played and revived," he added.

Among prominent personalities who attended the polls were Vijay Mallya (representing Vijaya Cricket Club, Malur), Rahul Dravid, actress B Saroja Devi and veteran actor Shivaram.

The result

President: Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar - 923.

Secretary: Brijesh Patel - 977.

Treasurer: Dayananda Pai - 932.

Vice-presidents: Sudhakar Rao R 915. Ashok Anand PR - 861. Sanjay Desai. - 790.

Managing committee: Life members: Raghuram Bhat A - 953; D Ganesh - 899; Srinivasa Murthy NS - 881; Mallikarjuna Swamy HM - 816; Manjunath VM - 809; Lachman K Mahtani - 791.

Institutional members (Bangalore Zone): City Cricketers - 980; Jayanagar Colts - 894; The Bangalore Cricketers - 882; Swastik Union Cricket Club - 872; Vijaya Cricket Club, Malur - 860: Vultures Cricket Club - 782.

Other zones: Mysore Zone: RBN Cricket Club - 811; Shimoga Zone: Durgigudi Cricket Association - 908; Tumkur Zone: Tumkur Occassionals - 933; Mangalore Zone: Mangalore Sports Club - 770; Raichur Zone: City XI Cricket Club - 926; Dharward Zone: BDK Sports Foundation: Unopposed